24/7 Free Virtual, Video and Phone Consults ~ SE HABLA ESPAÑOL 361-792-3811
When It Matters Most, Call Alex First.

Three Types of Civil Liabilities in Texas Law


If you live in Texas, you may want to look up and understand some elements of Texas law that are most likely to affect you. Civil liabilities or personal injury is one such category of law.

Civil liability comes into play when a tort is committed. If a person is injured, then under Texas personal injury law, the defendant has the legal responsibility of compensating the plaintiff.

A settlement can happen out of court without involving a judge or jury.

There are three chief types of torts – intentional, negligence, and strict liability.

  1. Intentional torts are those in which the doer or perpetrator commits the deed with the intention of causing harm. Such torts can be committed on the body of a person or on property. Examples of intentional tort include battery, i.e. hurting somebody physically or with a weapon; assault, i.e. threatening to commit battery; defamation, i.e. telling lies and slandering a person leading to harm.
  2. Negligence torts are the most commonly filed type of personal injury tort. As the name suggests, the actions are not deliberate. Usually, negligence cases occur when the perpetrator has the victim’s confidence and ends up abusing the trust, but not out of malice. The negligence can be criminal or civil.
  3. A strict liability in a personal injury lawsuit does not consider negligence. Liability automatically follows if any action leads to damage. Damages caused by pets fall under strict liability. Dangerous acts and product liabilities are covered under strict liability.

Main Office, Corpus Christi:

921 N. Chaparral Suite 100
Corpus Christi, Texas 78401

Phone: 361-792-3811

Austin Office:

9600 Great Hills Trail Suite 150
Austin Texas 78759


Victoria Office

101 W. Goodwin Suite 750
Victoria, Texas 77901

Phone 361-575-3101

Port Lavaca Office

402 W. Main St.
Port Lavaca, Texas 77979

Phone 361-552-3100

Connect with Us

Call Now ButtonClick Phone to Call