Some people have never been in a vehicle accident. Though you’ve been paying for car insurance since you started driving a car, you might not know how the car insurance process works after a crash. Should you file a claim with your own insurer, or should you file a claim with the other driver’s auto insurance company?
How does car insurance work in Texas? That’s the question we are here to answer.
What Are the Automobile Insurance Coverage Minimums in Texas?
First things first: Who do you file a car insurance claim with? Texas is considered an at-fault state when it comes to car insurance claims, which means the person who is at fault is the one whose insurance is supposed to pay for damages.
If you were at fault, your insurance would pay for the accident. If the other driver was at fault, their insurance would pay for the accident.
This works well for most accidents, but there are exceptions. Sometimes, a driver will only carry minimum coverage as required by law. This coverage might not be enough to pay for your damages if you’ve been seriously injured. You might need to file your claim against other involved parties in order to receive enough money to pay for your damages.
Here are the minimum coverage limits in Texas:
- $30,000 in coverage for injury to one person per accident
- $60,000 in coverage for injury to more than one person per accident
- $25,000 in coverage for property damage
What to Do if You’ve Been Injured in a Texas Car Crash
If you’ve been injured in an accident that you didn’t cause, you have the right to file a car crash claim against the person who was responsible. Filing your injury claim could win you a settlement to pay for the damages you’ve suffered. You will need to prove the fault of the party that caused the accident and prove your injuries and losses.
Contact a Car Accident Lawyer Near You
Now you know how car insurance works in Texas. Get assistance filing a car accident claim when you team up with a car accident attorney at Alex R. Hernandez Jr. PLLC. Receive a free case evaluation when you fill out the form on this web page or when you dial 361-792-3811.